Honestly
What did not work.
All 21 records of 383 that the database counts as failed. This is not an editorial selection: the rule reads “status cancelled, superseded or paused, or a documented shortfall”, it also drives the “Failed” pill in the catalogue, and you can reproduce it yourself from /api/projekty.json, so those three numbers have to agree down to a single record.
How a record lands on this list
In two ways, and both are in the data. Carrying the status cancelled, paused or superseded: 20. A site standing idle for years is a failure whether or not anyone signed a decision to close it. Formally alive or completed, but carrying a documented shortfall material to their own scale, five per cent of cost and up: 1. How we compute the failure rate.
How much of it is a figure
Sunk costs, meaning money spent and lost: 2.8 bn PLN; the amounts are nominal and from different years, so they do not add up to anything comparable with today's prices; those recorded in a foreign currency enter the sum at the site fixed rate. Accounting write-downs, meaning a reduction of asset value on the balance sheet: 17 bn PLN; that is not the same thing as money spent, which is why it stands apart. Amounts named by a state audit or examined in an investigation: 2.1 bn PLN; those enter neither sum, because nobody has settled them yet. Records with no amount: 15. No amount does not mean nothing was lost: on one of them a source confirms the loss and gives it in several approximations that we do not combine into one figure, and on the rest nobody established it. The total is in zloty, so it also holds figures recorded in a foreign currency (1) at the site fixed rate. Each of those stands in its row as the source wrote it, so the column will not add up to this number directly. Of the sunk-cost total, 2.0 bn PLN stands on Wikipedia, which our independent-source count treats as zero (one record). A row carrying such a figure bears the same mark as the project card.
And even these are rarely black-and-white: Izera was cancelled, and the company that developed it is preparing a different car with Foxconn under a new brand. The post-Northvolt battery factory in Gdańsk is not on the list, although its investor went bankrupt: a new owner restarted production there. Every case is in the database – with full context.
The table scrolls sideways: the Cost and Shortfall columns are off screen.
| Project | Domain | Status | From when | Cost | Shortfall | Why here |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orlen Olefiny III (original scope) | Industry | superseded | 2024 | 51 bn PLNestimate | 17 bn PLN lost (write-down) | stopped |
| "Żarnowiec" Nuclear Power Plant | Energy | cancelled | 1982 | not stated | 500 mn USD lost wiki | stopped |
| Ostrołęka C Power Plant (coal unit) | Energy | cancelled | 2018 | 6.0 bn PLNcontract | 1.3 bn PLN lost (named by an audit or under investigation) | stopped |
| Warsaw-Radom Airport (expansion of the Radom-Sadków airport) | Transport | completed | 2018 | 800 mn PLNbudget envelope | 813 mn PLN lost (named by an audit or under investigation) | material shortfall |
| Izera / ElectroMobility Poland (Polish electric car) | Industry | cancelled | 2020 | 580 mn PLNestimate | 580 mn PLN lost | stopped |
| Saule Technologies (commercialization of perovskite solar cells) | Industry | cancelled | 2014 | not stated | 250 mn PLN lost | stopped |
| Intel semiconductor assembly and test factory near Wrocław (Miękinia) | Industry | cancelled | 2023 | 18 bn PLNbudget envelope | not established | stopped |
| Program ochrony przed powodzią w dorzeczu górnej Wisły(name in Polish, no English version yet) | Environment | superseded | 2011 | 13 bn PLNbudget envelope | not established | stopped |
| Program dla Odry 2006 (wieloletni program modernizacji Odrzańskiego Systemu Wodnego)(name in Polish, no English version yet) | Environment | superseded | 2001 | 9.0 bn PLNbudget envelope | not established | stopped |
| Siarzewo Barrage on the Vistula | Environment | paused | 2017 | 7.5 bn PLNbudget envelope | not established | stopped |
| Nowy blok węglowy 900 MW w Elektrowni Rybnik (EDF, zaniechany)(name in Polish, no English version yet) | Energy | cancelled | 2011 | 7.4 bn PLNbudget envelope | not established | stopped |
| Blok gazowo-parowy ok. 850 MW w Elektrowni Blachownia (Elektrownia Blachownia Nowa, KGHM/TAURON, zaniechany)(name in Polish, no English version yet) | Energy | cancelled | 2012 | 3.5 bn PLNbudget envelope | not established | stopped |
| Cross-city rail tunnel in Łódź (Łódź Fabryczna – Łódź Kaliska/Żabieniec) | Transport | paused | 2016 | 2.3 bn PLNestimate | established, no figure | stopped |
| Druga nitka gazociągu jamalskiego (Jamał II) wraz z tłoczniami – projekt zaniechany(name in Polish, no English version yet) | Energy | cancelled | 1993 | 1.4 bn PLNestimate | not established | stopped |
| CPK Rail Spokes (hub-and-spoke model) | Transport | cancelled | 2017 | not stated | not established | stopped |
| Elektrownia Północ (Rajkowy near Pelplin) | Energy | cancelled | no date | not stated | not established | stopped |
| Gubin-Brody Complex (Lignite Mine and Power Plant) | Industry | cancelled | 2016 | not stated | not established | stopped |
| IGCC Unit at the Bogdanka Mine (coal gasification, Enea/Mitsubishi) | Energy | cancelled | 2019 | not stated | not established | stopped |
| Mieszkanie Plus Programme | Other | cancelled | 2016 | not stated | not established | stopped |
| Przetarg na śmigłowce wielozadaniowe H225M Caracal (anulowany 2016)(name in Polish, no English version yet) | Defence | cancelled | 2012 | not stated | not established | stopped |
| Złoczew Open-Pit Mine (lignite for Bełchatów) | Industry | cancelled | no date | not stated | not established | stopped |
Every row leads to the record and its sources. Amounts are nominal, with no inflation adjustment. A figure recorded in a foreign currency is converted at the site fixed rate (USD 4.00 / EUR 4.30) and the row shows it in the currency of its source.